June 15, 2024


Tripura's Latest News, Views & News Portal

Hon’ble Power, Agriculture & Farmers’ Welfare Minister Ratan Lal Nath Inaugurates The 33 KV Barkathal Sub-Station.

Spread the love

Hon’ble Power, Agriculture & Farmers’ Welfare Minister Ratan Lal Nath inaugurated the 33 KV Barkathal Sub-Station under NER Power System Improvement Project at Chintarampara under Hezamara Block on Monday (9th October, 2023).

“Electricity is essential for the growth and development of civilization. Human civilization cannot be imagined without electricity. Electricity is one of the elements of the development of civilization. Development cannot be carried forward without electricity.”, Hon’ble Power, Agriculture & Farmers’ Welfare Minister Ratan Lal Nath said at the inauguration ceremony of 33 KV Barkathal Sub-Station today. 9 crore 84 lakh rupees have been spent on the construction of this 33 KV substation and control room. The people of Barkathal, Battala, Chanchu, Sonai, Dumakari, Urabari and its surrounding areas will be benefited by the construction of this substation at Chintarampara in Barakathal area.

Addressing at the inauguration ceremony the Power Minister also added that  most of the electricity in our State is generated using natural gas. Work has already started on alternative methods of power generation if underground gas and coal run out in the coming days. By 2030, a target of 500 MW of solar power generation has been taken in the State. The Power Minister said that before 2018, there were 38 no. 33 KV substations in the State. 23 more substations have been constructed in the last 5 years. 28 more substations will be constructed.

General Manager Tripura Power Transmission Limited Ranjan Debbarma delivered the welcome speech on the occasion. MLA Brishaketu Debbarma, Hezamara BAC Chairman Sunil Debbarma,  Vice Chairman Nihar Ranjan Debbarma, Lefunga BAC Chairman Ranbir Debbarma, TNGCL Managing Director Debasish Sarkar, Social activist Jugendra Debbarma and many other dignitaries were present in the inauguration ceremony.

About The Author