May 28, 2024


Tripura's Latest News, Views & News Portal

Hon’ble Chief Minister Dr. Manik Saha Distributed ‘LAKSHYA-Chief Minister Special Scholarship.

Spread the love

Three candidates from the state who cleared the Civil Services Preliminary Examination conducted by UPSC were awarded ‘LAKSHYA-Chief Minister’s Special Scholarship’ on Monday (11th September, 2023). Hon’ble Chief Minister Dr. Manik Saha handed over the sanction letter of 5 lakh rupees to each of the recipients at his official residence today. Director of Higher Education Department N.C Sharma and other officials of the department were present on the occasion. After talking to the reporters, the Chief Minister said that the State Government has launched ‘LAKSHYA-Chief Minister Special Scholarship’ to encourage the youth of the state to appear in civil service examination conducted by UPSC. Candidates who clear the Preliminary examination of UPSC Civil Services Examination and allowed to appear in Mains examination and clear the Mains and are allowed to appear in Personality Test will be eligible for this scheme. In this, a one-time scholarship of 5 lakh rupees will be given to the candidates who passed the preliminary examination and a one-time scholarship of 20 thousand rupees for mains examination in the second stage. In other words, the scheme has a total of 5 lakh 20 thousand rupees scholarship for those who have passed the two levels of the examination.

So far 4 candidates from the state have received scholarship under this scheme. Out of this, 1 person received the scholarship in the financial year 2020-21 and 3 people received the scholarship in the current financial year. The Chief Minister said that the Higher education department of the state is implementing this scheme. Candidates must be permanent residents of Tripura and their annual family income should not exceed 10 lakh rupees to get the scholarship under this scheme. Today, those awarded ‘LAKSHYA-Chief Minister’s Special Scholarship’ are – Joy Debnath of Santirbazar, South Tripura and Jyotishman Chakma of Abhaynagar, Agartala, and Victor Debbarma of Krishnanagar, Agartala.

About The Author